The Keynsham Abbey monastery in the city of Bristol recently took back their grammar school from secular governance. Why? Churches in England once had a monopoly on English education, but secularism is increasingly loosening the monastic grip on English schools.

“I believe education is a Christian principle, therefore our schools should be lead by our Churches.” said Paul Bennett, who worked as a grammar teacher at Bury St. Edmund’s school, “I am very disappointed that my school was given an endowment to turn secular.”

Peter Godfrey, a student at a secular school in Waltham, feels differently.

“The secular schools charge less or no tuition and offer a more liberal education. I’m learning more about rhetoric now too. I think rhetorical studies are just as important as learning grammar and I’ll need both to study law in the future.”

Bennett is worried about the future of English education.

“What’s next? Taking prayer out of schools?!”

Click here to learn more about the history of grammar schools in England

